Who is Céléste ?

Who is Céleste Mogador ?

Pascale Nivet Bernetiere was born in Carhaix, at the heart of the Western French region called Brittany. She now works and lives in Rennes, still in Brittany. She starts her artist life under the name of Mademoiselle Héloïse.

With her husband, Fabrice Bernetiere, they found their company of stationery goods and interior design ornaments “La Marelle” in 2004. In 2014, they launch “Eté 36”, a brand of prêt-à-porter, stationery goods and accessories.

The brand Céleste Mogador was created in 2016. Pascale is the artistic director of the creations: jewelries, accessories and decoration ornaments. She hand-embroiders the unique jewelry pieces, and she manages the social networks herself, with her original and irreverent speech.

Fabrice is the administrator: he manages sales, logistics, and the company’s website. Together, they exhibit their work at international fairs to meet the customers and the retailers.

Who really  is Céleste Mogador ?

Céleste Mogador was Élisabeth-Céleste Vénard’s pseudonym. She was a famous French Cancan dancer form the 19th century. She was born in Paris on the 27thof December, 1824.

At first courtesan, she starts her dancer career at the « Cirque-Olympique », Parisian performance place. She met with success as a dancer-hostess at one of this time most prestigious Parisian theatre: “Le Bal Mabille”. She took part in the success of La Goulue, another famous French Cancan dancer.

Céleste even became a countess by marrying the Count Lionel Moreton de Chabrillan !

She wrote plays and her memories. They both lived in Australia where the Count worked for a couple of years, and then died in 1858, while Céleste was in France. She passed away in Paris on February, the 17th of 1909.

This spectacular and eccentric figure, as well as Céleste Mogador’s name seduced Pascal Nivet Bernetiere.

Embroidering until self-forgetfulness

Pascale likes to tinker with materials: she learned to embroider by her own, empirically. It is all about perseverance and learning: “everything I create comes from mistakes” she confides. Pascale likes to feel the needle entering in the tissue. She embroiders, unties, start again and improves constantly.

“We weren’t born embroiderer nor artist, you need to work. Everything begins with desire. When you want something, you succeed. The future is in manual and creative jobs. Machines will substitute humans but we’ll always need a creative and eccentric mind. I’m a compulsive creator, I became an artist because It’s self-evident and It saves me: embroidery is my manual anxiolytic”. She works during hours, sometimes embroidering until self-forgetfulness.

From traditional embroidery to « rock » creations

Pascale Nivet Bernetiere work is really far from a cold and minimalist style. Colors, materials, designs…her creative universe is filled with oneiric and gourmand symbols.

The glowing colors she is using reminisce traditional Breton embroideries, such as Glazig and Bigouden ones, made by her ancestors.

Pascal likes to mix styles, she is inspired by colored pieces: clothes ornaments of Samis and Incas people, Chinese masks…so many childhood memories nourished by traditional art festivals, shows and books.

Her mother Marie-Louise used to collect the “100 idées” magazines during the 70s/80s: she kept the patterns to make her own clothes. Pascale kept in mind these embroidery memories to feed her own creations. Later, she imagined herself as a rock star, a crazy nob, a “Loulou de la Falaise” character: “The older I get, the cockiness I am” she chants.

Pascale’s universe is definitely rock, feed by Anglo-Saxon pop rock music: The Sex Pistols, Joy Division, The Verve, The Cure… and also by British Fashion Designer such as Vivienne Westwood and Alexander McQueen.

The creator wishes to get out from the idealized images of Brittany. She wants to show something else: “my embroideries are a return to the roots of the tradition, but in a rock’n’roll way”, far from the seagull and bigouden clichés.

For her “Eté 36” brand, she restyled the traditional kabig (the Breton duffle-coat) by embroidering women divers on the back.


Céleste Mogador today

Céleste Mogador is a jewelry, accessories, ornament objects brand.

The artist creates necklaces, brooches and bags. Ornament objects category is made of cushions, plaids and cement tiles.

The creations are colorful, with fine hand-embroidered details. Jewelries are like lucky charm or talisman symbols: luck and love are constant themes. So is anatomy: mouth, hands, and the famous Celestial Eye. Anyone can see Its own interpretation and seize Its jewelry.

Nature is also significant in Céleste’s work: flowers, vegetables, insects… the 2018 Spring/Summer collection is blooming!

Collections will grow following the creator inspiration and the customers’ demand. Pascale Nivet Bernetiere shows her artisan savoir-faire by hand-embroidering unique pieces that are finest detailed jewelry.

Complementary with other artists’ work often leads to co-creation and collaborations. Céleste let her fingerprint on enamel vases, on domino paper…have a glance at Céleste’s collaborations by clicking here.

Pascale also dreams about a collaboration with Alessandro Michele, Creative Director of the Italian Maison Gucci. She is inspired by his graphic imaginary. Other creators inspire her: she likes Maison Margiela and Martin Margiela’s universe, and the surrealistic style of Maison Schiaparelli.

Even if French people like Céleste Mogador’s work, the number one customers are on the other side of the Atlantic Ocean: Americans are fond of the French jewelries and accessories. Céleste’s items are sold worldwide. The e-business website and the Instagram profile are the brand’s main stores. Many shops are also selling the jewelries and accessories abroad. You can find the retailers’ list on the location store page.

Do not forget to follow Céleste Mogador’s Instagram profile to keep up with the last news!

LIVRAISON GRATUITE POUR TOUT ACHAT PARTOUT DANS LE MONDE

Qui est Célèste ?

Née à Carhaix au cœur de la Bretagne, Pascale Nivet Bernetière vit et travaille à Rennes. Elle débute sa vie d'artiste sous le nom de Mademoiselle Héloïse.

Avec son époux Fabrice Bernetière, ils fondent leur marque de papeterie et d'accessoires de décoration La Marelle en 2004. En 2014, ils lancent Eté 36, marque de prêt à porter, papeterie et accessoires.


La marque Céleste Mogador est créée en 2016. Pascale assure la direction artistique de l'ensemble des créations: bijoux, accessoires et objets de décoration. Elle brode à la main les pièces uniques, et anime elle-même les réseaux sociaux de son ton décalé et irrévérencieux. Fabrice est gestionnaire de l'entreprise: il s'occupe de toute la partie commerciale et logistique, ainsi que le site internet de Céleste Mogador. Ensemble, ils parcourent les salons dédiés pour aller à la rencontre des distributeurs et des clients.

Mais alors qui est vraiment Céleste Mogador?
Céleste Mogador est le pseudonyme d'Élisabeth-Céleste Vénard, célèbre danseuse du français Cancan du 19ème siècle. Elle naît à Paris le 27 décembre 1824.

Au départ jeune cocotte, elle débute sa carrière de danseuse au Cirque-Olympique, salle de spectacles parisienne. Elle rencontre le succès comme danseuse-animatrice au Bal Mabille, un des établissements les plus prestigieux du Paris d'alors. Elle participe à lancer la carrière de La Goulue, autre personnage célèbre de l'époque.

C'est ce personnage décalé et spectaculaire et la sonorité du nom Céleste Mogador qui séduit la créatrice Pascale Nivet Bernetiere.

Broder jusqu'à l'oubli de soi

Pascale aime «bidouiller»: elle a appris à broder seule, de manière empirique. Tout est persévérance et apprentissage: confie-t-elle. Pascale aime le jeu de l'aiguille qui entre dans l'étoffe. Elle fait, défait, recommence et s'améliore sans cesse.

«Tu ne nais pas brodeuse ni artiste, c'est le travail qui fait. Tout part de l'envie. Quand tu as envie tu réussis. L'avenir est dans les métiers manuels et créatifs. Les machines vont remplacer l'homme mais nous avons besoin d'un esprit créatif et farfelu. Je suis une créatrice compulsive, je suis devenue artiste parce que c'est une évidence et ça me sauve: la broderie est mon anxiolytique manuel ». Elle travaille ainsi des heures, brodant parfois jusqu'à l'oubli d'elle-même.

De la broderie traditionnelle aux créations «rock»

Le travail de Pascale Nivet Bernetière est très éloigné d'un style froid et minimaliste. Couleurs, matières, motifs ... l'univers créatif est riche en symboles oniriques et gourmands, tous plus vibrants les uns que les autres.

Les couleurs chatoyantes utilisées par la créatrice ne sont pas sans rappeler celles des broderies traditionnelles bretonnes comme la broderie Glazig et la broderie Bigouden, confectionnées par ses ancêtres.

Pascale aime mélanger les styles, souvent inspiré par des pièces colorées: les motifs des vêtements des peuples Samis et Incas, les masques chinois ... autant de souvenirs d'enfance, nourris par des festivals d'arts traditionnels, de spectacles et de livres.

Sa mère Marie-Louise collectionnait pendant les années 70/80 les magazines 100 idées: on y trouve des cadeaux pour ses propres vêtements. Ces souvenirs de broderie, Pascale les a conservés en mémoire pour alimenter ensuite ses propres créations. Plus tard elle se rêve en chanteuse de rock, en aristo déjantée, en Loulou de la Falaise: «plus je vieillis, plus j'ai de la gouaille» scande-t-elle.

L'univers de Pascale est assurément rock, nourri par la musique pop rock des groupes anglo-saxons: les Sex Pistols, Joy Division, The Verve, The Cure ... et aussi par les stylistes britanniques comme Vivienne Westwood et Alexander McQueen.

La créatrice souhaite sortir des images d’Epinal de la Bretagne bretonnante. Elle veut montrer qu’il y a autre chose : « mes broderies sont un retour aux sources de la tradition mais en version rock », loin des images de goélands et de bigouden beurrées au kouign amann.

Pour sa marque Eté 36 elle avait par exemple revisité le célèbre kabig (sorte de duffle coat breton) avec des motifs brodés de plongeuses.


Céleste Mogador aujourd'hui

Céleste Mogador est une marque de bijoux, d'accessoires et d'objets de décoration.

L’artiste confectionne des colliers, des broches et des sacs. Les coussins, les plaids et les carreaux de ciment alimentent la catégorie objets de décoration.

Les créations sont colorées, les détails finement brodés à la main. Les bijoux sont comme des porte bonheur, des grigris : les thèmes de la chance et de l’amour sont souvent abordés. L’anatomie aussi : on retrouve des bouches, des mains, et le célèbre Œil Céleste. Chacun y voit quelque chose, sa propre interprétation, et s’approprie son bijou.

La nature est aussi très présente dans l’univers de Céleste : les fleurs, les légumes, et les insectes ont trouvé leur place lors de la dernière collection.

Les collections vont être amenées à se diversifier selon l'inspiration de la créatrice et la demande des clients. Pascale Nivet Bernetière démontrer son savoir-faire d'artisane en brodant à la main les pièces uniques , véritables parures tout en finesse et détails.

La complémentarité de ses pièces avec le travail d'autres artistes artisans donne souvent vie à des collaborations. Céleste a laissé son empreinte sur les vases en émail, du papier peint dominoté ...

La créatrice rêverait de collaborer avec Alessandro Michèle, directeur de la création de la Maison italienne Gucci, dont l'imaginaire graphique l'inspire. D'autres créateurs l'inspirent: elle aime l'univers de Martin Margiela de la Maison Margiela, et celui de la Maison Schiaparelli au style surréaliste.

Si les français aiment le travail de Céleste Mogador, le premier marché se trouve de l'autre côté de l'Atlantique: les américains sont friands des bijoux et des accessoires de l'artiste. Les articles sont aujourd'hui vendus partout dans le monde. Le site e-commerce et le profil Instagram sont les vitrines directes de Céleste Mogador. De nombreuses boutiques à l'étranger vendent également les articles de la marque. Vous pouvez retrouver la liste complète de nos revendeurs sur la page dédiée.

Et rendez-vous sur l'Instagram de Céleste pour connaître toutes les actualités!